Community Conservation Awards

Congratulations to the winners of the 2014 Community Conservation Awards.

Halton Hills
City of London Peel Region
Halton Hills London Peel Region

Halton Hills, London and Peel Region are recipients of this year’s Community Conservation Awards, which celebrate the leadership and innovation that municipalities across the province are demonstrating to support province-wide conservation goals.

Art Zuidema, City Manager, London;  David Szwarc, Chief Administrative Officer, Region of Peel; Steven MacDonald, Corporate Energy Management Engineer, London; Jay Stanford, Director - Environment, Fleet and Solid Waste, London; Joni Baechler, Mayor, London; Daryl Diegel, Corporate Energy Management Coordinator, London; Lynn Loubert, Division Manager, Aquatics, Arenas and Attractions, London; Duncan Sanders, Manager - Recreation Operations, Arenas, London; Sean Brady, Director, Business Development, OPA; Rick Bonnette, Mayor of Halton Hills; Jim Hogan, president and CEO of the EDA


In its third year, the initiative was a collaborative effort led by the Ontario Power Authority (OPA) with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and the Electricity Distributors Association (EDA). The three winners received their awards at AMO’s Annual General Meeting.

The Community Conservation Awards are presented to communities that demonstrate strong achievement in the following areas:

  • Conservation leadership
  • Innovation and market transformation
  • Corporate/internal and community engagement

The awards are open to all cities, towns and municipalities in Ontario. Participating municipalities were required to provide a written submission that outlined their conservation efforts, as well as a recent case study highlighting a specific conservation initiative undertaken in their community.