CCA 2013 Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2013 Community Conservation Awards.

City of Burlington
Sault Ste. Marie South-West Oxford
Burlington Sault Ste. Marie South-West Oxford

Burlington, Sault Ste. Marie and South-West Oxford are recipients of the 2013 Community Conservation Awards, which celebrate the leadership and innovation that municipalities across the province are demonstrating to support province-wide conservation goals.

Stay in touch
  Subscribe to receive updates on the Community Conservation Awards »

Begun in 2012, the initiative is a collaborative effort led by the Ontario Power Authority (OPA) with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and the Electricity Distributors Association (EDA). The three winners received their awards at the Local Authority Services Symposium, organized by AMO.

The Community Conservation Awards are presented to communities that demonstrate strong achievement in the following areas:

  • Conservation leadership
  • Innovation and market transformation
  • Corporate/internal and community engagement

The winners represent population categories of up to 50,000, 50,000 to 150,000, and over 150,000.

The awards are open to all cities, towns and municipalities in Ontario. Participating municipalities were required to provide a written submission that outlined their conservation efforts, as well as a recent case study highlighting a specific conservation initiative undertaken in their community.

Think your community has what it takes for 2014?
Talk to your city councilor about energy conservation measures your community is undertaking and its energy plan and sign up to receive news on deadlines and application announcements for the
2014 Community Conservation Awards.